Seven Wise Men to SGANARELLE

Seven Wise Men(The).
One of Plutarch’s brochures in the Moralia is entitled, “The Banquet of the Seven Wise Men,” in which Periander is made to give an account of a contest at Chalcis between Homer and Hesiod, in which the latter wins the prize, and receives a tripod, on which he caused to be engraved this inscription—

This Hesiod vows to the Heliconian nine,
In Chalcis won from Homer the divine.

Seven Wise Men of Greece(The), seven Greeks of the sixth century B.C., noted for the maxims.

(1) BIAS. His maxim was,“Most men are bad” (“There is none that doeth good, no, not one,” Ps. xiv. 3): of (fl.B.C. 550).

(2)CHILO. “Consider the end:” (fl.B.C. 590).

(3) CLEOBULOS. “Avoid extremes” (the golden mean): (fl.B.C. B.C.580).

(4)PERIANDER. “Nothing is impossible to industry” (Patience and perseverance overcome mountains): (B.C.665-585).

(5) PITTACOS. “Know thy opportunity” (Seize time by the forelock)’ (B.C. 652-569).

(6) SOLON. Know thyself;” (B.C. 638-558).

(7) THALES (2syl) “Suretyship is the forerunner of ruin” (“He that hateth suretyship is sure,” Prov. xi. (B.C. 636-546).

First Solon, who made the Athenian laws;
Then Chilo, in Sparta, renowned for his saws;
In Miletos did Thalês astronomy teach;
Bias used in Prienê his morals to preach;
Cleobulos, of Lindos, was handsome and wise;
Mityidenê gainst thraldom saw Pittacos rise;
Periander is said to have gained, thro his court,
The honour that Myson, the Chenian, ought.


(It is Plato who says that Myson should take the place of Periander as one of the Seven Wise Men.)

Seven Wonders of Wales (The):

(1) Snowdon, (2) Pystyl Rhaiadr waterfall, (3) St. Winifred’s well, (4) Overton churchyard, (5) Gresford bells, (6) Wrexham steeple (?tower), (7) Llangollen bridge.

Seven Wonders of the Peak (Derbyshire): The three caves called the Devil’s Arse, Pool, and Eden: St. Anne’s Well, which is similar in character “to that most dainty spring of Bath;” Tideswell, which ebbs and flows, although so far inland; Sandy Hill, which never increases at the base or abates in height; and the forest of the Peak, which bears trees on hard rocks.—Drayton; Polyolbion, xxvi. (a full description of each is given, 1622).

Seven Wonders of the World (1) The pyramids of Egypt, (2) the hanging gardens of Babylon, (3) the tomb of Mausolos, (4) the temple of Diana at Ephesus, (5) the colossos of Rhodes, (6) the statue of Zeus by Phidias, (7) the pharos of Egypt, or else the palace of Cyrus cemented with gold.

The pyramids first, which in Egypt were laid;
Next Babylon’s garden, for Amytis made;
Then Ma usolos’s tomb of affection and guilt;
Fourth, the temple of Dian, in Ephesus built;
The colossos of Rhodes, cast in brass, to the sun;
Sixth, Jupiter’s by Phidias done;
The pharos of Egypt, last wonder of old,
Or palace of Cyrus, cemented with gold.

Seven Years.

  By PanEris using Melati.

Previous chapter Back Home Email this Search Discuss Bookmark Next chapter/page
Copyright: All texts on Bibliomania are © Ltd, and may not be reproduced in any form without our written permission.
See our FAQ for more details.