She was written in the flush of success following the publication of King Solomon's Mines (1886) and was published in its wake in 1887. Again Haggard drew on his substantial knowledge of Africa and ancient legends but now he worked with darker material. She is narrated by a man seemingly without family called Ludwig Horace Holly. A beautiful and powerful white queen of an African tribe ("She who must be obeyed") is the centre of attention here as she falls in love with the English explorer. Even her name, Ayesha, indicates magic and mystery. She is more sophisticated but also much more disturbing that King Solomon's Mines, even in its raising up of the concept of "Truth" in a nightmarish world where we see pits filled with skeletons and the like. She spawned a number of much lesser sequels, including Ayesha: The Return of She (1905) and the risible She and Allan (1921). She's admirers included Jung who used it as an example of his "anima" concept.

Table of contents
My Visitor
The Years Roll By
The Sherd of Amenartas
The Squall
The Head of the Ethiopian
An Early Christian Ceremony
Ustane Sings
The Feast, and After!
A Little Foot
The Plain of Kôr
Ayesha Unveils
A Soul in Hell
Ayesha Gives Judgment
The Tombs of Kôr
The Balance Turns
Go, Woman!
`Give me a Black Goat!'
The Dead and Living Meet
Job Has a Presentiment
The Temple of Truth
Walking the Plank
The Spirit of Life
What we Saw
We Leap
Over the Mountain

  By PanEris using Melati.

  Back Home Email this Search Discuss Bookmark  
Copyright: All texts on Bibliomania are © Ltd, and may not be reproduced in any form without our written permission. See our FAQ for more details.