The Vicar of Wakefield

With little doubt, The Vicar of Wakefield is Oliver Goldsmith’s most enduring novel. It was written between 1761 and 1762 though only published later that decade in 1766 when Dr. Johnson sold it for Goldsmith at a price of £60. We begin and occasionally return to as state of idyllic calm in the parish of the eponymous clergyman, Dr Primrose, but disaster strike quickly Primrose is made penniless by the bankrupting of a merchant. Squire Thornhill makes his appearance on the scene and in hisdashing manner encourages questionable attitudes and behaviour in Primrose’s wife and children, while there are various subsidiary adventures such as poor Mr Burchell’s valiant saving of Sophie Primrose and later suspicion for the disappearance of sister Olivia. The novel follows the vicar’s fruitless quest to find his daughter, his accidental discovery of his son George, and the wretched Thornhill’s vulgar treatment of women. The moral tale is notable for Primrose’s strength of character in times of great difficulty and for its rejection of the ostentatious style of other novels of the time.

Table of contents
Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6
Chapter 7
Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11
Chapter 12
Chapter 13
Chapter 14
Chapter 15
Chapter 16
Chapter 17
Chapter 18
Chapter 19
Chapter 20
Chapter 21
Chapter 22
Chapter 23
Chapter 24
Chapter 25
Chapter 26
Chapter 27
Chapter 28
Chapter 29
Chapter 30
Chapter 31
Chapter 32

  By PanEris using Melati.

  Back Home Email this Search Discuss Bookmark  
Copyright: All texts on Bibliomania are © Ltd, and may not be reproduced in any form without our written permission. See our FAQ for more details.